There are a number of reasons why you may find yourself unable to log into your account, this article aims to explain these reasons as well as offer steps to get you back in action.

Invalid username and/or password

Usually this is as simple a retyping one or both fields (you’re only human after all), but could be something else. Check out to following for some possible reasons.

You haven’t confirmed your email address

Did you just sign up? If you don’t verify your email address we never create your account, so be sure to check your registration email and click on the link we send!

Check with other users

You may have at some point shared your credentials with someone else/another department, check with them to make sure they haven’t changed anything. Also consider implementing Teammates to set different levels of permissions.

Reset your password

Sometimes passwords just vanish from memory, it happens to the best of us. Use the reset password link from the login screen to start the reset process via email. Be careful though, changing your password can break existing API and SMTP integrations you have in production, so be sure to update your password wherever else it is used after resetting. For more info on safely resetting your password, click here.

Usernames can be anything

We don’t have a strict username syntax policy, so it may be something you wouldn’t normally use. Read more about finding and recovering your username here.

Bad username/password

Usually received via the API, this error means we don’t recognize one or both of the api_user and api_key parameters that you’ve passed in your call.

Billing terminated

On the last week of each month, we terminate accounts with outstanding unpaid balances from the previous month’s bill run. Terminated accounts cannot be accessed.

We will send out several warning emails in the course of a month if an account fails to pay on time, so you should have ample warning before Termination. However, if you believe your account has been terminated due to non-payment, please get in touch with Support and we can help get you out of the red and sending again.

Account banned

When an account is banned, it is permanently cancelled. Access to the account is blocked and no further requests to our system will be accepted. A banned account is not allowed back on SendGrid in the future. If the account had dedicated IPs they will be removed. Related sub-users will also be banned.

We don’t make a habit of letting banned accounts back on, but if you would like to discuss it, please respond to the email you received regarding the ban. Support cannot assist in reactivation of banned accounts.